A Magical Sunset in Real Life

A small piece from my year living in paradise

Paola Faben Oliveira
3 min readFeb 8, 2022
Picture of the sunset across the ocean
Not this one, even though this is also magical. Photo by the author.

To arrive at the beach, I pass through this picturesque path. Just a small opening in between the trees on the margin of the sand.

To bring an even more particular character to the trail, right on the edge of the beach is a tiny coconut tree. It’s like a miniature of a regular one, with a short trunk, but regular-sized leaves that touch the ground, forming something like a portal. I walk through it and feel like passing through a magical doorway, that welcomes me to this perfect beach where the sun is preparing to kiss the ocean in its regular goodbye.

Today there is not a clean sunset. There are clouds in the extension of the horizon, but this detail doesn’t make the moment less overwhelming.

The ocean seems to be calm in the deep waters, but small, delicate waves break on the shore. From my point of view, the sea color is a light gray, with a subtle gold glow from the sunlight.

All the clouds are gifted with this candy color on their upper edge. It’s peach, born from a light pink mixed with touches of orange, one of the prettiest tones of nature.

I can’t see the sun directly, but I know exactly where it is, and it’s because of the three sunshine lines escaping one big cotton candy-like…

--

--

Paola Faben Oliveira

I'm a Brazilian living in Tallinn, Estonia. I write about my life experiences, lessons and some random reflections.